With a UConn Google account, you have to opt-in to Public Services in order to use Chrome Sync. Chrome Sync saves the setting on your computer to your Google Account so when you sign into your account from a different computer Chrome will adjust to your saved settings. Your history and browser theme settings will adjust and you have access to your bookmarks, extensions and apps. Chrome Sync also works with mobile Chrome browsers, making the transfer from your desktop to your phone that much easier.
|Your settings and data are saved to your Google Account|
When you sign in to Chrome, your Chrome settings on that computer are saved to your Google Account. When you sign in to the same account on another computer or device, Chrome makes your saved settings available on that computer.
Recover your history, settings and data, such as bookmarks, apps, extensions, themes, etc. if your computer is lost or broken. Simply sign in to Chrome again to bring them back.
|Changes are synced instantaneouslyAny changes you make to your browser settings will be synced to the account you’ve used to sign in to Chrome. Changes you make on one computer are automatically reflected on the other computers where you’re signed in and have enabled sync.|
|You have control over your information|
To keep your information secure, synced data is encrypted when it travels between your computer and Google’s servers. As an added layer of protection, by default your saved passwords are encrypted on your computer and on Google’s servers using a cryptographic key. You also have the option to encrypt all your synced data. You can remove your synced data from your account at any time, using the Google Dashboard.